The problem with Sizing. Vogue 8728

ImageAfter getting Vintage Vogue 8728 I was envisioning it as a gorgeous easy dress that would just come together simply and quickly and be a go-to for emergencies.

Well I suppose it did come together quickly and easily, really it was a dream to sew – the only problem is that it came together about 2 sizes too big. I mean it’s freakin’ HUGE, my shoulders are wide and even they couldn’t hold the straps on. and in the waist it’s at least 4″ too loose. And not to mention way too long!

I suppose patterns like this are why I should make a muslin, and even reading some reviews might have helped, but no I insisted on powering through and this is what I get!

 

Have a giggle at these pictures, it’s such a hot mess!

 

Image

Image

So over the next day or so, out will come the seam ripper and I plan on gathering the bust more, removing some fabric at the side and shoulder seams and deepening the back darts (also maybe adding two at the shoulders because the gaping is ridiculous) and raising the hem by at least 3-5″.

 

Have you suffered any sewing disasters because of sizing and fit issues and how did you manage to pull it back to something you might like?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Siri Andersen
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 15:43:39

    The very first dress I made was from a pattern from the 50s. I chose the size based upon my bust measurement, and basically got a dress shaped tent ;) Then I discovered dress sizes are supposed to be chosen by high bust measurement, and after that things have been much better :) I find modern patterns to be hopeless size wise, there is just so dang much ease in them that it is impossible to get a nice fit without making a muslin. So I had to learn that too…! Your dress isn’t looking all that bad, I am sure with a few tweaks it will be lovely :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Did You Make That?

A sewing, knitting and crochet blog

whoopie cookie

a blog by three cousins-

Sew Exhausted

Sewing, Quilting, Crafting, Oh MY!

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

Clipped Curves

Sewing doesn't have to be pink and floral...

Coding in the Craft Room

Sewing, programming, and domestic life

sewloveable

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Kristin Cecilia's sewing space

Creating time for sewing projects

cherylji

streams of conciousness

Red Knits

making by hand

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

stuff and junk or whatever

It's like we feel the same way about junk and stuff... or whatever.

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Lassemista

variety is everything

sewcoordinated

My Life in Sewing and Fashion Design

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

