In Absentia; A TikiColada Circle Skirt

Hello!

First off, my apologies for so long of a break from the Blogosphere, SO much has been happening! But hopefully it’s all settling down now.

We have moved into a new house in lovely, quirky Mt. Lawley, it’s perfect for us and just five minutes more onto my daily commute, a worthy sacrifice to get out of the toxic environment we were in. Honestly, our last landlord actually sold our house without us even knowing! So glad to have moved on.

We also had a big angry moment at Harvey Norman over a faulty USB wifi adapter they sold us that overheated so much it actually left a blister when I yanked it out of the P.C., and they were so rude about it, refusing to refund or replace it, but we managed to get another store to replace it with something in the same price range (No way were we getting the same one again!). So I am back on the interwebs and sewing too.

Take a look at this cute Circle skirt I’ve made in a lovely rayon/cotton blend. I was so drawn to the fabric for the fact that it was Hawaiian print but in dark kind of stormy colours (hey I think the 16 year old Goth in me was happy), but the store only had 2 metres left so I was kind of stuck on what to make considering that it has an obviously directionality to it, but by creating two half cirlces and sewing them together, the flowers and scenes are only slightly sideways on the side seams, so I can totally live with that hahah and I decided on a shorter length for two reasons; 1. Limited fabric and 2. Summer here is really kicking in, I don’t need extra fabric to lug around in the heat!

(Please excuse my flip flops (As I said it’s too damn hot here))

Image

Image

It is a little shorter than I’d like, but the summer is here, so I will probably be happy of that fact soon enough

Image

Image

I found the construction extremely straightfoward and even hand-picked the zipper. Hemming a single fold baby hem took forever as I did it by hand *yawn* but even with the hand sewing, it only took a single, humid afternoon!

How is the Heat treating you, or the cold depending on your hemisphere?

xx Megs

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sewexhausted
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 18:21:38

    Pretty fabric! And great skirt.. Stay cool! ~Laurie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Did You Make That?

A sewing, knitting and crochet blog

whoopie cookie

a blog by three cousins-

Sew Exhausted

Sewing, Quilting, Crafting, Oh MY!

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

Clipped Curves

Sewing doesn't have to be pink and floral...

Coding in the Craft Room

Sewing, programming, and domestic life

sewloveable

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Kristin Cecilia's sewing space

Creating time for sewing projects

cherylji

streams of conciousness

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

stuff and junk or whatever

It's like we feel the same way about junk and stuff... or whatever.

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Lassemista

variety is everything

sewcoordinated

My Life in Sewing and Fashion Design

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

