My Summer Playsuit Plan [PIC HEAVY]

As I’m sure you’ve noticed I missed the Fall For Cotton deadline, which is a bit of a bummer but I decided that rather than rush it, I’d forgo the competition, and take my time to make the blouse something that I would wear, instead of look at it and say “Eugh, look at the shoddy job on that!”. Anyway, I’ll post about that soon!

Back to now, the summer is COMING! (Here in the Southern Hemisphere), which means I need some summer clothing! And I have about a month or two before the heat really kicks in (It gets 40 degrees celsius plus here in Perth). So my plans include; A playsuit, some shorts, cute blouses and a dress or two.

First up is my Playsuit; I have decided to sew a vintage styled one-shoulder playsuit with a matching overskirt.

Here is the picture I have drawn up, and the fabric I’ve chosen, which is a light Cotton poplin in a ditsy polka dot and strawberries on a grass green field.

Image

Image

 

 

 

THIS IS WHY I SHOULD JOIN PINTREST!

My inspiration images I have gathered from combing the internet and blogs as well as the covers of old sewing patterns and old photography. I do not own any of the images below, and I am not too sure where most of these came from originally, (I saved them all in my images folder) so if you see your photo here, let me know and I’ll credit you! xx

2161026658_b6ab817100 BLUE-WHITE-POLKA-DOT-PLAYSUIT-SHORTSUIT-SHORTS cherries_jubilee13 cherries_jubilee22 loomisdeanlifeAAAACwNRZfkAAAAAAFLuGg il_570xN.432381872_evds il_570xN.438587269_ozsp il_570xN.479744020_pos1 images imagescc imagese index Simplicity 1169 tumblr_m9pwmjWN1C1qf6jy9o1_r2_500

 

 

What do you think, anything you’d make? or would you use that fabric for something different?

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. smittenness
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 15:33:30

    I love your design, it’ll be perfect for the hot Perth summer. I didn’t realise you were from Perth too! – or maybe I did and it slipped my mind. I’m so very, very jealous of you guys going into summer while we look at 6 months of grey skies, looking forward to seeing your playsuit finished.

    Reply

  2. smittenness
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 15:35:17

    Meant to add, you should totally join Pinterest. I find if so useful so organising all my pics/inspiration. For me, it’s far easier than using folders or bookmarks.

    Reply

    • redhotrosie
      Oct 06, 2013 @ 06:14:28

      I keep meaning to join but never get around to it!
      And hey, I’m actually Irish born, so I’ve had my fair share of snow and grey skies, this sunny weather is great but I do miss home too :)

      Reply

  3. sewexhausted
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 16:50:28

    Pinterest is a virtual bulletin board! I LOVE it for saving “stuff.” Highly recommend it! I love the fabric and it will make a darling playsuit. I bought a vintage “play” pattern recently- Advance 8248. I just want to make it next summer and wear it to a picnic. It is the shorts underneath the pretty full skirt idea I like! Looking forward to seeing ours! ~Laurie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Did You Make That?

A sewing, knitting and crochet blog

whoopie cookie

a blog by three cousins-

Sew Exhausted

Sewing, Quilting, Crafting, Oh MY!

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

Clipped Curves

Sewing doesn't have to be pink and floral...

Coding in the Craft Room

Sewing, programming, and domestic life

sewloveable

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Kristin Cecilia's sewing space

Creating time for sewing projects

cherylji

streams of conciousness

Red Knits

sewing and knitting a handmade wardrobe

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

stuff and junk or whatever

It's like we feel the same way about junk and stuff... or whatever.

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Lassemista

variety is everything

My Life in Sewing and Fashion Design

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

